Wood Flooring GradesWood grades

Oak Wood Flooring

Oak wood flooring is separated into four different grades.  This grading process is overseen by the NOFMA organization.

Clear Grade

Clear Grade is made up of mostly heartwood with the least amount of character marks.  It will provide the best appearance with color consistency.

Select Grade

Select Grade is made up of heartwood and unlimited sound sapwood with some character marks.

No.1 Common Grade

No.1 Common Grade is made up of prominent variations of color with varying degree’s of character, including knots under ½”, flag worm holes, heavy streaks and checks.

No.2 Common Grade

No.2 Common Grade is a rustic grade including knots, worm holes, checks, mineral streaks and a large degree color variation.  This will have the most amount of character out of all the grades.

Beech, Birch, Maple & Hickory Grades

Beech, Birch, Maple and Hickory are separated into three different grades.

First Grade

First Grade is the highest grade which will provide the least amount of defects while allowing for the natural color variation of the wood.

Second Grade

Second Grade varying wood characteristics of streaks, stained sapwood, sound knots and checks. Also with distinct color variations.

Third Grade

With Third Grade all characteristics of the wood species are permitted.